Choreo of the Year: Oh My Girl’s “Windy Day”

For 2014 I made some big catalog of sixty-plus K-pop girl group hits with Leonard Maltin rankings.  For 2015 I made a lot of drafts for the same but never got around to it– in part, the star ranking system felt like it was breaking down for me.

And independent of going back to check, I’m not sure I ever left my “nominations” for Song of the Year, MV. Album, etc., though certainly I kept a lot of notes on those too.

For the time being, while I mull over some of the more competitive potential prizes, I’ll go ahead and honor the best stage choreography of the year.

GFriend’s “Rough” and “Navillera” present punishingly athletic and iconic routines, Laboum’s “Journey to Atlantis” choreo is full of whimsical charm and excitement, Red Velvet’s “One Of These Nights” took a bold new direction that paid off, A Pink’s evocative “Only One” choreo presented autumn fairy enchantment, Lovelyz’ “Destiny” brimmed with elegant drama, and Oh My Girl’s own “Liar Liar” choreo was a sort of physical anthem of exuberant triumphalism (which lent itself as an audiovisual counterpoint to my troll-pouncing activities!) but I bestow the award on Oh My Girl’s breathless woodland rhapsody “Windy Day”:

Not for nothing have they earned their reputation as the dancing elite of K-pop groups.  May JinE and all the gang return to the fray in good health, and if they do have as much great work in 2017 as they did this year, it will be a year richly spent!

Leave a Reply

