Why is Jihyun wearing the Bible around her neck?

When therefore they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said to them: He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.

I happened to click on this performance on a whim– I’d been rewatching A Pink’s “Mr Chu” debut on M! Countdown, and this was one of the videos offered up at the conclusion.  Last year I had major reservations about “Whatcha Doin’ Today?”s video and, to a lesser extent, the song itself; but I feel bad about basically ignoring 4Minute’s latest comeback, so I figured I’d give it a whirl.

First, I was stuck by this mysterious, fetching sideways glance Jihyun shoots at Sohyun at the 1:36 mark.  Wardrobe malfunction?  Somebody’s hair whipped her in the head?  Telegraphed critique of Hyuna’s foolishness?  I was intrigued.

But it was only after that that I even noticed Jihyun is wearing a freakin’ plaque around her neck.  What the heck is that about?!

And then I see a chapter and verse inscribed, and it’s all I could do to stick with the performance till the end, so strong was my curiosity.  OMG, I wondered, was Jihyun rebelling against the song the way Lisa “Left Eye” Lopez did with that TLC cheating song, putting the tape over her mouth?  That would be so cool!

So alas, I suspect it was some kind of weird oblique slut-non-shaming technique instead.  A way for 4Minute to build a little “street cred” as an implicitely Bad Girl type of band.  Not that that’s Jihyun’s vibe, obviously.  The whole thing was probably Hyuna’s idea.

Actually, I wouldn’t be surprised if Jihyun was mentally telegraphing to Sohyun:  “This damn thing smacked me in the chin!”  Alas, poor Jihyun!  And yet such are the burdens of the Good Girl!

Leave a Reply

